There are five different access rights available in Float, and each one has unique superpowers designed to help your team stay on track.

You can set your team's access rights from the People page for team members who appear on the Schedule, or from the Guests tab within your Team Settings for guest users.

Here's a rundown of the access rights available:

Member:

They have read-only access to one of the following: their Schedule, all people, or a specific department.

If the "Can edit their schedule" option is selected, they can also do the following: schedule time off, edit existing tasks they’ve been assigned, schedule new tasks for projects they’re a part of, log time, and connect their Outlook or Google Calendar.

Project Manager:

They can add new people and create new projects, edit any tasks assigned to their Schedule, and edit any projects they've been added to via the Team tab within the project.

They do not have the power to delete projects or change the Project Owner (unless they have been assigned as the Project Owner of the project).

💡 Here's a tip: Check the "All PMs have edit rights" box if you want every Project Manager in Float to be able to edit that particular project.

Admin:

They can do almost everything, including creating and assigning projects to Project Managers. They do not have access to critical account settings like billing, integrations, or the ability to close the account.

Billing:

They have the same rights as Admins, but with additional access to manage billing and subscription details. Billing access rights can only be assigned to guest users.

Account Owner:

They have unrestricted access. There can only be one Account Owner, and by default, that is the person who created the account. The current Account Owner can transfer ownership to another user from the Team Settings page. They will be relegated to an Admin after doing so.

Set a Project Owner

While not considered an access right, the Project Owner is the person responsible for maintaining an individual project. Anyone with access rights assigned in Float can be set as the Project Owner of a project (including Members).

The Project Owner has the ability to edit/delete a project, their avatar is displayed next to the project on the Projects page, and they can filter by "My projects" on the Schedule to view a list of the tasks assigned to the projects they own.

If the Project Owner is ever deleted from Float, the Account Owner takes ownership of their projects.

Did this answer your question?