People are your full or part-time employees, temporary contractors, and any other resource you want to schedule within Float. Adding a new person to your team in Float is easy:

  1. Click the + button in the top-right of Float and then Add person.

  2. Click the person button in the top-left of Float when in the People view of the Timeline.

  3. Use the keyboard shortcut Shift+E.

People info

The Info tab contains general information about the person.

  • Job title - Every job title in use is available from the drop-down for quick assignments.

  • Department - You can sort and filter the Timeline by department or limit a person's view to one or more departments.

  • Tags - Tags are a great way to identify individual skills and talents within your team. You can sort and filter any page by a tag.

  • Type - There are three account types: employee, contractor, or placeholder. All of them can be excluded from your reporting as needed. Find out more about using the placeholder role.

  • Hourly rate - A person's default rate is applied to any new projects you create. You can also set project-specific rates for your team.

People access

Assigning access rights to a person sends them an invitation to join your team and log into Float.

​📝Note: The invitation expires after seven days. If the link expires or the invitation email is lost, hit the Resend invite option within the person's profile.

Team members who appear on the Timeline and can be assigned tasks have four different access rights available:

  • Member - They have read-only access to one of the following: their schedule, all peoples' schedules, or a specific department's schedule.

  • Project Manager - They can invite new Project Managers and Members to Float, create new projects, edit any tasks assigned to their schedule, and edit any projects they've been added to via the Team tab.

  • Department Manager - They can invite new Department Managers, Project Managers, and Members to Float and schedule and manage tasks, time off, and logged time for people within their departments. They cannot edit or create projects.

  • Admin - They can do everything when it comes to people and projects, and have access to most of the team's settings.

Check out the access rights article for more info on the different permissions available in Float.

💡 Here's a tip: To update a team member's email address after they've already been assigned access, click the X next to their access to remove it, and then the email field becomes editable.


People availability

  • Start and end date - Setting a start or end date blocks out the days immediately before or after and reduces a person's availability to zero. It's great for onboarding new hires or maintaining a historical record of past team members' work without impacting your reporting.

  • Full-time/part-time - Your team's default work hours per day and work days per week can be set from the Preferences tab within the Team settings. Marking a person part-time allows you to adjust their individual availability without impacting anyone else. Find out more about setting custom availability.

  • Public holidays - You can add regional holidays to specific members of your team. Find out more about assigning holidays to your team.

  • Notes - The character limit for notes is 1500 characters. The Notes field also supports hyperlinks and can be used to link to outside documents.

People projects

The Projects tab is where you can view the projects your team members belong to. Adding a new project to the Assign a project field will give Members the ability to schedule tasks for the project and Project Managers permission to make changes to the project.

​📝Note: Scheduling a task on the Timeline automatically adds the project to the person's list.

To quickly remove all instances of a task from a team member's schedule, click the X next to the project and confirm.

Additional information

  • Set a profile picture so your team can put a face to all the great work that you do. Here's how to add a picture to your profile.

  • If there is no resend invite link available in a person's profile, it means that the invitation has already been accepted. If the person has trouble logging in, they can request a password reset.

  • Guests can view and/or edit in Float but they don't appear on the Timeline. You can have an unlimited number of guest users for free. Here's how to add a guest.

Did this answer your question?