If you're using Jira to manage your projects and Float for team scheduling, this integration is for you. It's easy to sync your people and projects from Jira and drag and drop tasks directly onto the schedule in Float.

Get connected

As the Account Owner, navigate to your Team settings, select the Integrations tab, and click Connect.

You'll be redirected to the Atlassian Marketplace. Click Get it now to add Float to Jira.

Once Float has been added to your apps, select Go to Float to return to your account.

Back in Float, you'll soon see a list of your projects and people from Jira. All existing/future people and projects are imported by default. To specify the projects/people you want to import instead, click Select projects.

💡 Here's a tip: To import an existing project later on, click Select projects and check the box next to the project. You can disconnect individual projects the same way.

If you've set estimates for your Jira issues, you can sync the time to Float by checking the Import estimated time box and choosing the field where your estimates are kept.

Schedule your projects

From the Schedule, click the Integrations icon to open the Jira sidebar. This is where your Jira issues live in Float.

Scroll or search for the issue you'd like to add, and then drag and drop it onto a team member's schedule to create a new task.

Any tasks you drag/drop onto the Schedule from the sidebar will be the same duration as the estimate. Tasks without an estimate will be equal to your daily work hours limit (e.g., 8 hours).

💡 Here's a tip: You can adjust any task directly on the Schedule by dragging it horizontally to increase its days, or vertically to decrease its hours.

Your Jira issues can be scheduled as many times as you'd like and do not disappear from the sidebar. Once an issue has been added as a task in Float, a white dot appears next to it on the sidebar to make it easy to identify.

Any changes you make in Jira will be reflected on the sidebar, but will not impact tasks that you've already scheduled. The same is true when editing tasks on the schedule (e.g., if you edit the name of a scheduled task, it will not change the name of the issue on the sidebar).

You can collapse projects to hide their issues or use the search to quickly find the project, issue, or assignee you're looking for.

💡 Here's a tip: Tasks created from the sidebar can be viewed in Jira by opening the task menu and clicking View in Jira.

Synced projects are easy to identify in Float by the icon displayed next to each project on the Manage page.

Time tracking

You can also log time using cards from the sidebar. Just drag and drop a card onto a team member's schedule when in the Log team view of the Schedule and the hours are recorded instantly.

Task hours for time tracking are based on the last hour setting used in the Log team view (rather than the person's maximum work hours for the day).

As with scheduled tasks, you can easily adjust the time after dropping it onto the Schedule.

Additional notes

  • Projects, people, and tasks created in Float are not synced to Jira.

  • Synced tasks won't show up in the task modal menu until you've scheduled them from the integration sidebar.

  • Team members will be assigned to the project in Float if they have at least one issue already assigned in Jira.

  • The Jira Project Lead will be assigned the Float Project Owner, but only if that user already exists in Float with access rights.

  • All existing/future people and projects are imported by default. You can change your settings from the Integrations menu.

  • Additional fields that are synced from Jira to Float include project created/edited dates, type, and project lead; issue type and key; user email, avatar, and role.

  • If you disconnect a project that has scheduled tasks, the project is removed from the sidebar and a copy of the project and its tasks remain in Float. Projects without scheduled tasks are removed completely.

  • Locking a project's task list in Float will not prevent new tasks from importing to the sidebar.

  • You can only sync with one project management tool at a time in Float.

  • To disconnect the integration, click Edit > Disconnect Jira. You can keep the projects and people you've imported in Float or choose to archive them.

Did this answer your question?