Teamwork

Connect your Teamwork account with Float

Justyna Kawalec avatar
Written by Justyna Kawalec
Updated this week

If you're using Teamwork for project management and Float for resource scheduling, this integration makes it easy to sync and schedule between the two.

Set up the integration

The Account Owner can set up the integration in the Integrations tab of Team settings.

Log in to your Teamwork account and click Allow to let Float access it.

Connecting Float with Teamwork.

By default, all of your Teamwork people and projects are imported. To specify the people and projects you want to import, click Select projects/Select People.

Finalising Teamwork integration.

💡 Here's a tip: To import an existing project later on, click Select projects and check the box next to the project. You can disconnect individual projects the same way.

Schedule your projects

To schedule your Teamwork tasks, click the Integrations icon in the top right corner of the Schedule to open the integrations sidebar.

From the Schedule, click the Integrations icon to open the sidebar. This is where your Teamwork tasks live in Float.

Integration sidebar with Teamwork tasks.

Scroll or search for the task you'd like to add, and then drag and drop it onto a team member's schedule to allocate a new Float task.


​Task hours are determined by the estimated hours you’ve set in Teamwork. If no estimate is set, the task will equal the person's work hours for the day.

💡 Here's a tip: You can adjust any task directly on the Schedule by dragging it horizontally to increase its days or vertically to decrease its hours.

Your Teamwork tasks can be scheduled as many times as you'd like, and they do not disappear from the sidebar. Once a task has been scheduled in Float, a dot appears next to it on the sidebar to make it easy to identify.

Teamwork scheduled task indicator.

Changes you make in Teamwork are reflected on the sidebar but do not impact tasks you've already scheduled. The same is true when editing tasks on the Schedule (e.g., if you edit the name of a scheduled task, it will not change the task's name on the sidebar).

You can collapse projects to hide their tasks or use the search to quickly find the project, task, or assignee you're looking for.

💡 Here's a tip: Any task you create can be viewed directly in Teamwork by opening the task menu and clicking View in Teamwork.

View in Teamworks button on the allocation menu.

Synced projects are easily identified in Float by the icon next to each project on the Projects page.

Synced project indicator.

Time tracking

You can also log time using cards from the sidebar. When in the Log team view of the schedule, just drag and drop a card onto a team member's schedule, and the hours are recorded instantly.

Task hours for time tracking are based on the last hour setting used in the Log team view (rather than the person's maximum work hours for the day).

You can easily adjust the logged time by dragging it vertically to decrease/increase its hours.

Disconnecting the integration

To disconnect Trello, navigate to Team settings > Integrations > Edit > Disconnect Teamwork.

Disconnecting Teamworks integration.

You can choose to keep the projects and people you’ve imported in Float or archive them.

Disconnecting Teamwork integration.

Additional notes

  • Projects, people, and tasks created in Float are not synced to Teamwork.

  • If team members have at least one task already assigned in Teamwork, they will be assigned to the project in Float.

  • Synced tasks will not appear in the task modal menu until you schedule them from the integration sidebar.

  • By default, all existing/future people and projects are imported. You can change your settings from the Integrations menu.

  • Additional fields that are synced from Teamwork to Float include project descriptions (imported as notes), tags, milestones, task start/due/created on dates, people's email addresses, avatars, and titles.

  • If you disconnect a project with scheduled tasks, it is removed from the sidebar, and a copy of the project and its tasks remain in Float. Projects without allocated tasks are removed completely.

  • Locking a project’s task list in Float will not prevent new tasks from importing to the sidebar.

  • You can only sync with one project management tool in Float.

Did this answer your question?