All Collections
Schedule
Move multiple allocations, milestones, and phases together
Move multiple allocations, milestones, and phases together

Shift a project's timeline to move all of its elements at once

Justyna Kawalec avatar
Written by Justyna Kawalec
Updated over a week ago

Shift a project timeline

If a client wants their ad campaign delivered two weeks early or your team needs some extra time putting the finishing touches on a website redesign, it’s easy to move all of a project’s assigned work simultaneously.

While in the Project plan view, click the arrow next to the project you want to move and select Shift timeline.

Project plan page. Shift timeline.


You will be given the option to enter a new start and end date, and all of your allocations, milestones, and phases will move accordingly.​

Shift project menu.

📝Note: The Shift timeline option is only available for projects with assigned allocations.

Move individual allocations

If you need to move a few of a project's allocations (or allocations from different projects), you can do so by holding down the Shift key and selecting the allocations you want to move.

Once selected, the allocations will appear outlined in black. Now, hover over a selected allocation and move it to a new date. All other selected allocations will move with it.

📝Note: Only active, non-repeating allocations can be moved using this method.

Allocations remain locked on the same person, making them easy to track.

Moving individual allocations.

💡 Here's a tip: Release the Shift key before dragging the allocations to move the existing allocations together. Keep holding Shift if you want to create copies of the selected allocations.

Move project phases

You can move a project phase from the Project plan view of the Schedule. Grab the phase bar and drag it to a new date to move all of the phase’s allocations and milestones together.

Moving project phases.
Did this answer your question?