Linking allocations helps you plan your projects better by automatically shifting related allocations together when a project timeline changes.
It also provides a visual overview of which allocations are dependent on one another to make planning and scheduling allocations for different team members easier.
Link allocations together
From the Schedule, right-click and select the Link option or use the keyboard shortcut "L." Click the allocation you want to link, and a new link line will appear.
Allocations are linked in pairs. You can link to any allocation that belongs to the same project as long as it does not start before the allocation that you've selected.
Allocations that can't be linked to your selected allocation are grayed out to make things easy.
Extending, decreasing, or moving the first allocation (Allocation A) will automatically move the second allocation (Allocation B) the subsequent number of days forward or backward.
Allocation B can be moved forward or backward independently of Allocation A, as long as its start date does not come before Allocation A.
The same logic applies to any subsequent allocations you link together in a chain (Allocation C, D, E, F, etc.). For example, dragging Allocation C's start date two days forward will also move D, E, and F the same number of days but will not impact A or B.
💡 Here's a tip: For multi-assigned allocations, the link line is only shown for the chosen allocation. Moving a multi-assigned linked allocation for one person will still move it for all others as well.
See linked allocations on the Schedule
In the Project plan view, all the link lines between your allocations are displayed to make it easy to see which allocations are connected and which ones aren't.
In the Schedule view, the link lines only show when you are in Link mode to avoid adding clutter.
💡 Here's a tip: You can exit Link mode quickly by clicking anywhere on the Schedule that is not an allocation.
You can also see which linked allocations come directly before and after an individual allocations by clicking Linked allocations at the top of the allocation menu.
Remove the link between allocations
You can remove the link between allocations by clicking the X in the link line while in the Projects plan view or in link mode in the Schedule view.
Allocations can also be unlinked from each other from the allocation menu by clicking the X between allocations.
Deleting an allocation will also remove its link but will not impact the allocation it was linked to or any other allocations in the link chain.
Allocations cannot be linked between projects or phases.
Repeating allocations cannot be linked.
Allocations synced with an outside calendar or other integration cannot be linked.
Anyone with access to edit the Schedule can link allocations. However, they can only link to other allocations that they have edit rights to.
Splitting an allocation will add the new allocation to the existing link chain.
Copied allocations are not part of the link chain.
Linking allocations is not currently available using the mobile app.
There is a limit of 100 allocations within a link chain.