Linking tasks helps you plan your projects better by automatically shifting related tasks together when a project timeline changes.
It also provides a visual overview of which tasks are dependent on one another to make planning and scheduling tasks for different team members easier.
Link tasks together
From the Schedule, right-click and select the Link option or use the keyboard shortcut "L." Click the task you want to link, and a new link line will appear.
Tasks are linked in pairs. You can link to any task that belongs to the same project as long as it does not start before the task that you've selected.
Tasks that can't be linked to your selected task are grayed out to make things easy.
Extending, decreasing, or moving the first task (Task A) will automatically move the second task (Task B) the subsequent number of days forward or backward.
Task B can be moved forward or backward independently of Task A, as long as its start date does not come before Task A.
The same logic applies to any subsequent tasks you link together in a chain (Task C, D, E, F, etc.). For example, dragging Task C's start date back two days will also move D, E, and F back the same number of days but will not impact A or B.
💡 Here's a tip: For multi-assigned tasks, the link line is only shown for the chosen task. Moving a multi-assigned linked task for one person will still move it for all others as well.
See linked tasks on the Schedule
In the Project plan view, all the link lines between your tasks are displayed to make it easy to see which tasks are connected and which ones aren't.
In the Schedule view, the link lines only show when you are in Link mode to avoid adding clutter.
💡 Here's a tip: You can exit Link mode quickly by clicking anywhere on the Schedule that is not a task.
You can also see which linked tasks come directly before and after an individual task by clicking Linked tasks at the top of the task menu.
Remove the link between tasks
You can remove the link between tasks by clicking the X in the link line while in the Plan projects view or in Link mode in the Schedule view.
Tasks can also be unlinked from each other from the task menu by clicking the X between tasks.
Deleting a task will also remove its link but will not impact the task it was linked to or any other tasks in the link chain.
Tasks cannot be linked between projects or phases.
Repeating tasks cannot be linked.
Tasks synced with an outside calendar or other integration cannot be linked.
Anyone with access to edit the Schedule can link tasks. However, they can only link to other tasks they have edit rights to.
Splitting a task will add the new task to the existing link chain.
Copied tasks are not part of the link chain.
Linking tasks is not currently available using the mobile app.
There is a limit of 100 tasks within a link chain.