WorkflowMax (WFM) is a project management service that integrates with Xero accounting software to give you greater visibility over your people and your profit.

This integration makes it easy to sync your WorkflowMax staff and jobs with Float and drag and drop tasks directly onto your Schedule.

Get connected

As the Account Owner, navigate to your Team settings, select the Integrations tab, and click Allow to access your WorkflowMax account.

πŸ“Note: You must have Administrator privileges in WorkflowMax with "Authorize 3rd Party Full Access" enabled to connect.

All of your existing staff and jobs will be imported to Float by default. To specify the jobs and staff that are imported, click Select jobs.

πŸ’‘ Here's a tip: To import an existing job later on, click Select jobs and check the box next to the job. You can disconnect individual jobs the same way.

Check the box next to Send Float Logged Time if you want to export the logged time created in Float back to WorkflowMax.

Schedule your jobs

From the Schedule, click the Integrations icon to open the sidebar. This is where your WorkflowMax tasks live in Float.

Scroll or search for the task you'd like to add, and then drag and drop it onto a person's schedule to create a new task in Float.

Additional fields that are synced from WorkflowMax include job description (imported as notes), budget, manager, milestone date, staff email, task description (imported as notes), and start/due dates.

Task hours are determined by the estimated hours you've set in WorkflowMax. If no estimate is set, the task will be equal to the person's work hours for the day.

πŸ’‘ Here's a tip: You can adjust any task directly on the Schedule by dragging it horizontally to increase its days, or vertically to decrease its hours.

Your WorkflowMax tasks can be scheduled as many times as you'd like and do not disappear from the sidebar.

Once a task has been scheduled in Float, a white dot appears next to it on the sidebar to make it easy to identify.

Changes you make in WorkflowMax are reflected on the sidebar but do not impact tasks that you've already scheduled. The same is true when editing tasks on the schedule (e.g., if you edit the name of a scheduled task, it will not change the name of the card on the sidebar).

You can collapse jobs to hide their tasks or use the search to quickly find the job, task, or assignee you're looking for.

πŸ’‘Here's a tip: You can sort how tasks appear underneath their project on the sidebar. The available sort options are Name (A-Z), Assignee (set in WFM), Not scheduled (in Float), Same as WorkflowMax (how they appear in WFM).

Synced projects are easy to identify in Float by the icon displayed next to each project on the Manage page.

Time tracking

You can send your time tracking hours back to WorkflowMax time sheets by checking the appropriate box within your integration settings.

Just drag and drop a card onto a team member's schedule when in the Log team view and the hours are recorded instantly.

As with scheduled tasks, you can easily adjust the time after dropping it onto the Schedule.

πŸ“Note: The Send Float logged time to WorkflowMax box must be checked within your integration settings to export logged time.

πŸ“Note: Task hours for time tracking are based on the last hour setting used in the Logged view (if no estimated time has been set in WFM).

Hours logged in Float are sent back as time sheet entries matched to the staff member in WorkflowMax.

Data flow diagram

Additional notes

  • Projects, people, and tasks created in Float are not synced to WorkflowMax.

  • All WorkflowMax jobs are assigned to the Float Account Owner.

  • Synced jobs won't show up in the task modal menu until you've scheduled these tasks from the integration sidebar.

  • If you disconnect a job that has scheduled tasks, the job and its tasks are removed from the sidebar, and a copy of the job and its tasks remain in Float. Jobs without scheduled tasks are removed completely.

  • Locking a project's task list in Float will not prevent new tasks from importing to the sidebar.

  • You can only sync with one project management tool at a time in Float. To disconnect the integration, click Edit > Disconnect WorkflowMax. You can choose to keep the jobs and staff you've imported in Float or archive them.

Did this answer your question?