Setting clearly defined roles and permissions helps keep everyone on track and focused on their work. Access rights are set via the People page for scheduled users and in Account Settings for guests.
Here's a rundown of the available roles:
- Member: They see a personal weekly schedule of their allocated tasks called My Schedule when they log in. They can view their schedule on any device.
- Observer: They have read-only access to the schedule, people, projects, and reports. They have no edit rights.
- Project Manager: They can add people and projects as needed, but can only edit projects that they've either created or been assigned to as the project lead.
- Admin: They can do almost everything, including adding and assigning projects to Project Managers. They do not have access to critical account settings such as billing, API access, or the ability to close the account.
- Billing: They have the same powers as Admins, but with additional access to manage account plans and billing details. You can only assign billing rights from the Guests page.
- Account Owner: They have unrestricted access to everything. There is only one Account Owner. By default, it's the person that created the account, but this can changed in Account Settings.
Here's a short video on managing your team and permissions: